SDC Foundation Announces Callaway Award Finalists and Winners

If you're having trouble viewing this email, you may see it online.

Share this:
SDC - Stage Directors and Choreographers Society
Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation
 Announces Joe A. Callaway Award Winners 


and Finalists
for 2012-2013 Theatre Season

Awards will be presented on Monday, October 28

The Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation (SDCF) proudly reveals this season's Joe A. Callaway Award winners for Direction and Choreography from more than 200 eligible productions in the 2012 – 2013 New York City theatre season. 
This year's awards will be presented to Ruben Santiago-Hudson for his direction of The Piano Lesson produced by Signature Theatre and Marlo Hunter for her choreography of Unlock'd produced by Prospect Theater Company. 
The Callaway Award Selection Committee, comprised of current longstanding SDC Members, also selected finalists from more than 200 eligible productions considered this season. Finalists for the 2012 – 2013 Joe A. Callaway Award are:  
Directors –
Davis McCallum, The Whale produced by Playwrights Horizons
Ciarán O'Reilly, The Weir produced by The Irish Repertory Theatre
Lisa Rothe, Hold These Truths produced by Epic Theatre Ensemble
*Ruben Santiago-Hudson, The Piano Lesson produced by Signature Theatre
Kimberly Senior, Disgraced produced by LCT3/Lincoln Center Theater  
Choreographers –
Tracy Bersley, The Civil War produced by Theatreworks USA
Greg Graham, Finks produced by The Ensemble Studio Theatre
*Marlo Hunter, Unlock'd produced by Prospect Theater Company        
*Award Winners  
The 2012 - 2013 Joe A. Callaway Awards recognize excellence in the crafts of direction and choreography during the New York City theatre season from September 1, 2012, through August 31, 2013, and is the only award given by professional directors and choreographers to their peers for work on a specific production.  The production must take place within the five boroughs of New York City under an Actors' Equity Association contract other than the Showcase code and Broadway contract, and the artist must be a member of Stage Directors and Choreographers Society.  
Special thanks to our 2012-2013 Callaway Committee Members:  Leslie (Hoban) Blake,  Linda Burson (Chairperson), Jonathan Stuart Cerullo, Hope Clarke, Edie Cowan, John Going, Bruce Heath, Gus Kaikkonen, Sue Lawless, William G. Martin Jr., Barry McNabb, Michael Montel, and Tony Parise, who considered more than 200 eligible productions this season.  
About Joe A. Callaway:  Joe A. Callaway dedicated more than 50 years to the theatre as an actor, director, lecturer and critic. He was a founding member and director of San Diego's Old Globe Theatre, the first recipient of a Master's degree from the Goodman School of Theatre, an associate professor at Michigan State University, a noted radio and television reviewer, and an actor off-Broadway and in regional theatre. Since his death in 1991, his legacy lives on in awards he endowed for direction and choreography (through SDCF), for acting (through Actors' Equity Association), for playwriting (through Young Playwrights Inc.) and for theatre scholarships (through NYU). 
About SDCF's Joe A. Callaway Award: SDCF's Joe A. Callaway Award was first presented in 1989. Previous winners include Gabriel Barre, Andy Blankenbuehler, Carolyn Cantor, Martha Clarke, Graciela Daniele, Frank Galati, Christopher Gattelli, Gerald Gutierrez, Doug Hughes, Garry Hynes, Bill T. Jones, Thomas Kail, Moises Kaufman, Larry Keigwin, Joe Mantello, Trevor Nunn, Jack O'Brien, Ciarán O'Reilly, Harold Prince, Bartlett Sher, Susan Stroman, Daniel Sullivan and George C. Wolfe.
About SDCF:  Founded in 1965 by Members of the Stage Directors and Choreographers, SDCF is the nation's premier organization that exists to foster, train, support and promote the craft of theatre directors and choreographers. SDCF aims to provide opportunities to practice the crafts of direction and choreography; promote emerging talent; grant access to career paths for emerging artists and young professionals; gather and disseminate craft and career information; provide forums for exchange of knowledge; and increase the awareness of the value of Directors' and Choreographers' work.  
For more information on SDCF's Callaway Award, visit SDCF online at SDCweb.org.  
SDCF 2013/2014 programs are made possible in part by the National Endowment for the Arts, the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, Stage Directors and Choreographers Society, and many generous corporations and individuals.
SDC Foundation
1501 Broadway | Suite 1701 | New York NY 10036 | PH: 212.391.1070 | F:212.302.6195 | SDCweb.org

No comments:

Post a Comment

Remembering leslie Shreve in pictures

 Remembering our beloved leslie Shreve in pictures - Rest in Peace, Rest in Power