Request for Submissions for 2013 WAM Coalition Collaboration Award

Women in the Arts & Media Coalition, Inc.
Time to submit
for the next Collaboration Award!
2013 Collaboration Award
Women Working with Women
The WAM Coalition is excited to send you this information on the 2013 Collaboration Award.  Now is the time for women to collaborate with other women on arts and media projects, and be rewarded for their efforts!
Please see all the submission info below, and good luck with your submission.
Frances McGarry and Amanda Cole
Collaboration Award Committee Chairs
Shellen Lubin and Avis Boone

Request for Submissions

WAM Coalition, Inc. (Women in the Arts & Media) 
will present the 2013 Collaboration Award
recognizing Women Working with Women 

The $1,000 award is designed to encourage professional women in the arts and media from different specializations to work collaboratively on the creation of a new artistic work. The aim of the award is to encourage women to work collaboratively with women of other disciplines. Each collaborative team must be comprised of female members of 
different Arts & Media associations, unions, guilds and affiliates of WAM Coalition. Eligible teams may suggest any form of creative collaboration on a new work that has had a public performance within the last two years, 2011-2013. A Public Performance can include, but is not limited to a staged reading, gallery show, concert series, etc.

Submissions will be judged on the basis of artistic excellence, diversity, and clarity. All topics and subjects will be considered. Special attention shall be given to those projects which reflect the goals of the Coalition: to advance women's work and women's issues. The team that has been selected and the honorable mentions will be invited to be recognized at an awards ceremony in New York in October 2013. Women outside of New York may send a designee to speak about their project and accept the award.

Teams of two or more women working together on the creative project may apply for the 2013 Collaboration Award on the WAM Coalition website atwww.wamcoalition.org. Applicants must be members in good standing of an organization and/or affiliate with WAM Coalition. Those organizations are: Actors' Equity Association, Dramatists Guild, League of Professional Theatre Women, New York Women in Film & Television, Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists, Stage Directors and Choreographers Society, and Writers' Guild of America, East. Affiliates: WomenArts, The Rehearsal Club, The Women's Media Center, Women Make Movies, Dancers Over 40, Professional Women Singers Association.

Deadline: The postmark deadline for the return of completed applications ismidnight 11:59 PM Tuesday, April 30, 2013. Award winners will be announced by August 2013.

Funding for the 2013 Collaboration Award has been provided in part by Sherry Eaker, Yvonne Curry, and Elsa Rael.

2011 Winners
Stefanie Zadravec (playwright - Dramatists Guild) and Daniella Topol (director - Stage Directors and Choreographers) for their collaboration on The Electric Baby. 

2008 Winners
Jennifer Gibbs, author of the play, 
The Stranger, and director, Kristin Marting. Gibbs based her play on Henrik Ibsen's The Lady From the Sea. Marting and Gibbs plan a multi-media production including film and music.

2006 Winners
Playwright Jennifer Maisel and director Wendy McClellan for the play, Birds.

Send your questions to:  collaborationawards2013@gmail.com
244 Fifth Avenue
 Suite 2932
New York, New York 10010

No comments:

Post a Comment

#ScreenOpps #ScreenOppsJuly24

#ScreenOppsf FILM FESTIVALS Women, Life, Freedom Film Festival  Following the governmental murder of Mahsa (Zhina) Amini and inspired by its...